« A thoughtful article on our Flag. | Main | Busy ness »

They Work For You

Testing the beta of TheyWorkForYou.com: Is your MP working for you in the UK's Parliament? I notice an interesting snippet about my MP The Earl Of Ancram - so I use the handy link to send him a fax. Having met him a couple of times he seems a decent cove so I expect the answer promptish and we will all see the answer.

My Query:

Dear Rt Hon Michael Ancram QC,

Late at night perusing the excellent www.theyworkforyou.com I notice on your register of interests that several of your trips have been financially supported by Flying Lion Ltd. I just wondered who they are, as the only information that is thrown up on a web search is, via a far right web site, which quotes them as "(A)company (that)owns one Dassault Falcon 900EX (registration VP-BMS) registered in Bermuda at the following address:

Being curious I wonder why such a small airline is prepared to fly you, and apparently no other MPs to ;
Kabul and Baghdad, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland, and Afghanistan, Georgia and Turkey.

I am making this enquiry public on my website www.anenglishmanscastle.com and unless you request otherwise I will make the reply public. I hope that is OK.

If anyone else knows about Flying Lion Ltd. please tell me.


Cool! Glad you have asked Michael Ancram about this. I spotted Flying Lion when looking at the Register of Members Interests before, and spent a bit of time searching to find out who they are. No luck.

If you get a reply, could you add a glossary entry for Flying Lion to TheyWorkForYou.com?

A google search for '"41 Cedar Avenue" +Bermuda' returns the names of many companies using that address. (Including consulates of Finland and Germany.)

With so many companies receiving mail at that address, one wonders if it is a skyscraper or simply a private mailbox drop.

Hmm... Bermuda Yellow Pages shows a law firm operating at 41 Cedar Street. With a main phone number that is associated with several of the companies at that address.

Any bets that they wouldn't acknowledge representing "Flying Lion"?

Any bets that I have gone as far with this as I think I want to?

When you get information you should definitely post it to the glossary and possibly to the http://www.disinfopedia.org/ (There's a good argument for overlapping these resources.)

I feel that entries like this are not really attending to the spirit of the register of interests. We should reduce the chances that it's fooling anyone by editing the entry to replace "Flying Lion Ltd" with "An Undisclosed Source", because that's what it is.

Post a comment